Databases

Under Maintenance

Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search (Ctrl+F) for titles and terms that appear in the database descriptions. NOTE: The links for Keywords, Contents, and Access Level are unavailable during maintenance period.

A list of our top-used databases is available at
Major Databases


Currently, the Library has 275 databases, press Ctrl+F to search for a specific database

1000 Genomes

1. 1000 Genomes



AARP Country Profiles

2. AARP Country Profiles



Academic Search Complete (TexShare)

3. Academic Search Complete (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , citations , full text
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: This collection offers a broad spectrum of disciplines: computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Some full text from as far back as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 titles. Contains full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals and 1,200 other serials, with indexing and abstracts covering in excess of 12,500 periodicals as well as about 700 reports, proceedings and short monographs.
  • Keywords: multidisciplinary | periodicals


AccessEmergencyMedicine

4. AccessEmergencyMedicine



AccessMedicine

5. AccessMedicine

  • Provider: McGraw-Hill
  • Contents: e-books , full text , images , mobile access , reference , textbooks , videos
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions:

    AccessMedicine is an integrated database, updated daily, that draws on the more than 60 essential clinical and academic medical texts included, as well as a drug index, a differential diagnostic tool (called "Diagnosaurus"), and a library of image and video content. "Clerkship Corner" is a new resource that organizes AccessMedicine’s content according to topics covered in the internal medicine clerkship and includes content typically needed during the internal medicine rotation. Also provided: patient handouts.

    To access Mobile view log in with a personal profile username and password. (Set up your optional personal profile via the resource's website.) Mobile Devices Supported as of 2012: iPhone/iPhone 3G, BlackBerry Bold and Google's Android devices.

  • Keywords: clinical | database | diagnosis | drugs | e-books | evidence-based medicine | medicine | mobile access | point-of-care | video


AccessSurgery

6. AccessSurgery

  • Provider: McGraw-Hill
  • Contents: CME , full text , images , videos
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: An integrated database of surgical resources, both written and visual, that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing surgeons with quick answers to surgical inquiries, from trusted sources. Organized around the ACGME's (Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education) mandate for a core curriculum, AccessSurgery delivers content in context. This is a tool for the student, the educator, and the practitioner, and is available to Educational users.
  • Keywords: clinical | surgery


ACP Medicine (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)

7. ACP Medicine (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)

  • Provider: WebMD and The American College of Physicians via STAT!Ref
  • Contents: CME , e-books , full text
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: A peer-reviewed, evidence-based guide to clinical decision-making, ACP Medicine covers the 11 sub-specialties of internal medicine, along with other key topics. Individually-authored chapters on Clinical Essentials, Cardiovascular Medicine, Dermatology, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Hematology, Immunology/Allergy, Infectious Disease, Interdisciplinary Medicine, Metabolism, Nephrology, Neurology, Oncology, Psychiatry, Respiratory Medicine, Rheumatology, and Women's Health. Includes CME.
  • Keywords: decision support | evidence-based medicine | internal medicine


ACP's PIER--Physician's Information and Education Resource (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)

8. ACP's PIER--Physician's Information and Education Resource (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)

  • Provider: Teton Data Systems
  • Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , websites
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Web-based, evidence-based guidance tool to improve clinical care. Disease topics are selected by the American College of Physicians (ACP), based on prevalence in clinical settings. Evidence for all diseases is evaluated; credibility of the evidence is displayed with a rating. Subcategories for each disease are: Prevention, Non-drug Therapy, Screening, Drug Therapy, Diagnosis, Patient Education, Consultation for Diagnosis, Consultation for Management, Hospitalization, Follow-up. PIER includes AHFS DI® Essentials, with drug information monographs drawn from evidence-based guidelines in the full AHFS DI® database; distills information on prescription and key over-the-counter (OTC) drugs in a structured outline format.
  • Keywords: clinical evidence | drugs | evidence-based medicine | internal medicine | physicians | point-of-care


Agricola

9. Agricola



Agricola (EBSCO -- TexShare)

10. Agricola (EBSCO -- TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , indexing
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Compiled by the US National Agricultural Library, this bibliographic information resource consists of over 2 million citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including: plant and animal sciences; forestry; entomology; soil and water resources; agricultural economics; agricultural engineering; agricultural products; alternative farming practices; and food and nutrition.
  • Keywords: agriculture | animal | nutrition


AHFS Drug Information (Stat!Ref-- TexShare)

11. AHFS Drug Information (Stat!Ref-- TexShare)

  • Provider: American Hospital Formulary Service on STAT!Ref Platform
  • Contents: monographs
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Collection of drug monographs on single-drug entities available in the United States; information on various trademarked preparations and brands of a drug is contained in a single monograph. Monographs on principal ingredients also include descriptive information about drug combinations. There are general statements on groups of drugs whose activities and uses permit their discussion as a class. Information on older and prototype drugs is also provided.
  • Keywords: drugs | pharmaceutical


ALFRED: The Allele Frequency Database

12. ALFRED: The Allele Frequency Database



Allen Brain Atlas

13. Allen Brain Atlas



Alt Health Watch (TexShare)

14. Alt Health Watch (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: citations , partial full text
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness; offers full text articles for nearly 180 international reports and journals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition, there are hundreds of other publication types: pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts.
  • Keywords: alternative medicine | herbs | holistic | wellness


America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts (TexShare)

15. America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: America: History and Life (AHL) is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 530,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954. Additional bibliographical entries are constantly added to the databases from editorial projects such as retrospective coverage of journals issues published prior to 1954. This extensive database covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals.
  • Keywords: history | humanities | social sciences


American Association of Poison Control Centers

16. American Association of Poison Control Centers



American Film Scripts Online

17. American Film Scripts Online



American Hospital Directory

18. American Hospital Directory



American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900

19. American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900



Anatomy Atlases

20. Anatomy Atlases



Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)

21. Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)



ARTbibliographies Modern

22. ARTbibliographies Modern



ARTStor

23. ARTStor

  • Provider: ARTStor/UT System Digital Library
  • Contents: images
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: ARTStor contains roughly half a million images of architecture, paintings, sculpture, photography, decorative arts and design, as well as images from other forms of 'visual culture.' This database documents the art of many cultures and eras.
  • Keywords: art | culture | humanities


arXiv

24. arXiv

  • Provider: Cornell University Library
  • Contents: e-prints , free
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: Provides open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Started in August 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Users can retrieve papers from arXiv either via the web interface, or by sending commands to the system via e-mail. Authors can use a web form to submit their papers and can also update their submissions if they choose, though previous versions remain available. Users can register to automatically receive a listing via email of newly submitted papers in areas of interest to them.
  • Keywords: biology | computers | open access | physics | research


ASH (American Society of Hematology) Image Bank

25. ASH (American Society of Hematology) Image Bank

  • Provider: American Society of Hematology
  • Contents: full text , images , index , open access
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: "The American Society of Hematology (ASH) Image Bank is intended to serve as a comprehensive reference and teaching tool that is widely accessible to physicians and hematology students around the world. The images are presented in a digital, case-based format that allows both images and text to be searched, cross-referenced, and hyperlinked to other cases as well as other educational resources, including Hematology, the Society's annual meeting Education Program Book, the ASH Teaching Cases and the syllabus from the ASH Self-Assessment Program. In addition to the case studies, the Image Bank includes a collection of basic atlas images. This project is a major outreach effort to the clinical and academic community, defined as members of ASH, internists, clinical pathologists, pediatricians, hematologists and oncologists."
  • Keywords: education | figures


Atlas of Ophthalmology

26. Atlas of Ophthalmology



Background Notes/Country Fact Sheets

27. Background Notes/Country Fact Sheets



BestBETS: Best Evidence Topics

28. BestBETS: Best Evidence Topics



Bibliography of Native North Americans (TexShare)

29. Bibliography of Native North Americans (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , citations , partial full text
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life; also provides information on a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 100,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
  • Keywords: American history | homework | Native American | sociology


Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University: ETHXWeb database

30. Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University: ETHXWeb database



BioethicsWeb

31. BioethicsWeb

  • Provider: Wellcome Library, Joint Information Systems Committee, University of Nottingham
  • Contents: free , links , links to full text , open access , websites
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: Gateway to evaluated, quality Internet resources relating to biomedical ethics, including ethical, social, legal and public policy questions arising from advances in medicine and biology, issues relating to the conduct of biomedical research, and approaches to bioethics. BioethicsWeb is part of Intute, "...a free online service providing access to Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." BioethicsWeb is also affiliated with the BIOME life sciences hub and the Resource Discovery Network (RDN). It is developed and managed by the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine at the Wellcome Trust.
  • Keywords: animal | bioethics | biomedical ethics | open access


Biology Image Library

32. Biology Image Library



BioMart  Bio Portal

33. BioMart Bio Portal



BioMed Central

34. BioMed Central



BioMed Experts

35. BioMed Experts

  • Provider: Collexis Holdings, Inc.
  • Contents: free , interactive
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: BioMed Experts is a scientific-literature-based social networking site. "BME connects biomedical researchers to each other through the display and analysis of each scientist’s co-author network, allowing scientists and researchers across organizations to collaborate in new and time-saving ways. BME is available as a free online community to individuals while value-added services are provided for institutional customers." Free registration is required, and fully functional access is now restricted: "If you have published at least three papers over the last ten years that have been indexed in the PubMed database, you can validate your pre-calculated expert profile and network in a simple, 4-step wizard after you register. If you have not published in PubMed over the last ten years, you can still register, search, and network with researchers you know."
  • Keywords: biomedical research | citation analysis | collaborative | open access | research | science | scientist | social networking


BioMedLib.com

36. BioMedLib.com

  • Provider: BioMedLib.com
  • Contents: search engine
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: BioMedLib is a free/optional-subscription PubMed search engine and alert service that delivers the results of your query via email at intervals you specify. Services include: topic monitoring and delivery for citations or article summaries on topics that match your publications, or for which you enter a query; monitoring for articles citing your work; and email delivery of any available free .pdf articles on your query topic. Knowledge of a special query syntax is unnecessary to obtain thorough results. Each service requires a separate sign-up. BioMedLib takes your query and calculates probability of relevance for each result, sorting results so that articles with the highest probability of relevance show first.
  • Keywords: biomedical research | research | search


BioMedSearch.com

37. BioMedSearch.com



BIOSIS - Biological Abstracts, 1980 - 2003

38. BIOSIS - Biological Abstracts, 1980 - 2003

  • Provider: OVID
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: BIOSIS encompasses the breadth of life sciences and provides coverage of published biological and biomedical research; includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, and agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields like biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering are also included. The Library's coverage ends with 2003. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
  • Keywords: biology | biomedical | life sciences | microbiology | veterinary medicine | zoology


BLAST (NCBI)

39. BLAST (NCBI)



Books@Ovid

40. Books@Ovid

  • Provider: OVID
  • Contents: e-books , full text
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: This browsable, searchable database of electronic books includes a collection of nursing volumes from Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins and the Oxford Textbook of Medicine. All displayed titles are accessible in full text.
  • Keywords: nursing


Business Source Complete (TexShare)

41. Business Source Complete (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: bibliographic records , full text , proceedings
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Scholarly business database, providing both bibliographic and full text content; includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
  • Keywords: business | marketing


Canary Database: Animals as Sentinels of Human Environmental Health Hazards

42. Canary Database: Animals as Sentinels of Human Environmental Health Hazards



Cancer Portals (American Society of Clinical Oncology)

43. Cancer Portals (American Society of Clinical Oncology)



CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool

44. CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool



Cases Database

45. Cases Database



CDC WONDER

46. CDC WONDER



Cell Press Free Archive

47. Cell Press Free Archive



Cell, The: An Image Library

48. Cell, The: An Image Library



Center for Biological Sequence Analysis

49. Center for Biological Sequence Analysis



Centre for Reviews and Dissemination

50. Centre for Reviews and Dissemination



ChemID Plus

51. ChemID Plus



CHEMM: Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management

52. CHEMM: Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management



ChemSpider: Building Community for Chemists

53. ChemSpider: Building Community for Chemists



CINAHL Plus with Full Text (1937-present)

54. CINAHL Plus with Full Text (1937-present)



CIRRIE - Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange

55. CIRRIE - Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange



CKS - Clinical Knowledge Summaries

56. CKS - Clinical Knowledge Summaries

  • Provider: National Library for Health, National Health Service, UK
  • Contents: free , full text , links
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: This evidence-based care tool provides the practitioner with "a reliable source of evidence-based information and practical 'know how' about the common conditions managed in primary care." For each topic, information is provided on scope and age range, how recently the topic and the supporting evidence have been updated, background, diagnosis and management information on the condition, the recommended prescribing information, and (for users in the UK) links out to the full text of articles cited. Patient information handouts are also provided. Free registration is required for all but the patient information, and the user can customize the resource according to preference. Note: This resource has not been updated since March of 2011. The project is no longer funded by the National Health Service, but alternative funding is being sought.
  • Keywords: evidence-based medicine | open access


Clinical Queries (PubMed)

57. Clinical Queries (PubMed)



ClinicalTrials.gov

58. ClinicalTrials.gov



Cochrane Library

59. Cochrane Library

  • Provider: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
  • Contents: full text
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration. * Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews * Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials * Cochrane Methodology Register * Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects * Health Technology Assessment Database * NHS Economic Evaluation Database * About The Cochrane Collaboration
  • Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | evidence-based medicine | point-of-care | systematic reviews


Cochrane Summaries (Cochrane Reviews)

60. Cochrane Summaries (Cochrane Reviews)



Complementary and Alternative Therapies (MedlinePlus)

61. Complementary and Alternative Therapies (MedlinePlus)



Computer Source (TexShare)

62. Computer Source (TexShare)



Consumer Health Complete (TexShare)

63. Consumer Health Complete (TexShare)



Contemporary Authors (TexShare)

64. Contemporary Authors (TexShare)

  • Provider: Gale/Texas State Library
  • Contents: bibliographies , biographical , literary criticism
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: A bio-bibliographical guide that covers more than 124,000 current writers in a wide range of media, including: current writers of fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, and drama; prominent print and broadcast journalists, editors, photojournalists, syndicated cartoonists, screenwriters, television scriptwriters, and other media people; authors who write in languages other than English, provided their works have been published in the United States or translated into English; and literary greats of the early twentieth century whose works are popular in today's high school and college curriculums and continue to elicit critical attention.
  • Keywords: books | culture | homework | literature


Contemporary Literary Criticism (TexShare)

65. Contemporary Literary Criticism (TexShare)

  • Provider: Gale/Texas State Library
  • Contents: literary criticism
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Provides significant published criticism on the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers. A strong emphasis is placed on including criticism of works by established authors who frequently appear on the syllabi of high school and college literature courses. Each entry contains: a biographical essay that discusses the author's life, works, and critical importance; critical essays or excerpts taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers, and scholarly journals; and, where available, interviews with featured authors. A complete bibliographical citation prefaces each critical essay and most essays are introduced by a brief annotation that establishes a context and purpose for the criticism. Entries also provide suggestions for further reading.
  • Keywords: books | culture | homework | humanities | literature


Counseling and Therapy in Video, Volume 1

66. Counseling and Therapy in Video, Volume 1

  • Provider: Alexander Street Press
  • Contents: citations , CME , transcripts , videos
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions:

    This is an online collection of more than 350 videos invaluable for studying counseling in the psychotherapy, psychology, psychiatric and social work settings. Footage of real and demonstration sessions, designed to illustrate issues and scenarios that commonly arise in the therapeutic setting, can be viewed in conjunction with their transcripts. Text is highlighted as it is spoken. Some units provide a theoretical context through narration or other structural elements.

    Additional videos feature consultations (specialists advising other therapists) lectures, interviews, teaching guides. Some can be viewed for CE credit. Using this collection, it is possible to compare the application in practice of various therapeutic theories to a single problem.

    Semantic indexing and multiple access approaches to the materials that are available, such as thumbnails, enhance the user's search and browse results.

    This collection has received a 2011 database award from Library Journal: Best Niche Product.

  • Keywords: child psychiatry | child psychology | education | films | point-of-care | psychiatry | psychology | psychotherapy | social work | substance abuse | video


Current Protocols

67. Current Protocols



dbGaP (Database of Genotypes and Phenotypes)

68. dbGaP (Database of Genotypes and Phenotypes)



Diagnosaurus

69. Diagnosaurus



Dictionary of Literary Biography (TexShare)

70. Dictionary of Literary Biography (TexShare)

  • Provider: Gale/Texas State Library
  • Contents: bibliographies , biographical , literary criticism
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Essays outline the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres and summarize the critical response to their work. Each DLB entry contains personal information- birth/death dates, nationality/ethnicity, principal genres, awards, family history, and in some cases an author portrait-a list of the author's principal works, further readings about the author, a list of additional writings, published interviews, biographies, and a bibliography of writings about the author.
  • Keywords: biography | homework | humanities | literature | publishing


Dietary Supplements Labels Database

71. Dietary Supplements Labels Database



Digital Commons@The Texas Medical Center

72. Digital Commons@The Texas Medical Center



Digital National Security Archive

73. Digital National Security Archive



Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

74. Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)



Disaster Information Management Research Center

75. Disaster Information Management Research Center



DPDx - Laboratory Identification of Parasites of Public Health Concern

76. DPDx - Laboratory Identification of Parasites of Public Health Concern



Drug Resource Center

77. Drug Resource Center



DrugBank

78. DrugBank



DynaMed

79. DynaMed

  • Provider: EBSCO
  • Contents: CME , full text , mobile access , patient education , practice guidelines
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions:

    DynaMed is designed for use at the point of care, providing summaries of about 3,000 topics and monitoring the content of over 500 journals and systematic review databases. Articles are evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity; the evidence is integrated with existing content, and conclusions are amended accordingly, to produce a synthesis of the best evidence. DynaMed can be used with a range of PDA and SmartPhone devices; please see our Online Tutorials page for links to the instructions, then call the Circulation staff to request a unique serial number to use when setting up mobile access.

    DynaMed is available to all TMC academic users.

    DynaMed provides a Personal Alerts option for Recent Updates. To create a customized alert that will notify you when new evidence warranting a change in practice is available:

    • -In the Recent Updates page, select from Limit by Category and/or check the box labeled, Practice-Changing Updates only.
    • -Click the alert icon (ringing bell) in the Tools section on the right-side column.
    • -Select frequency for receiving alerts. (Initially "Once a day" will be the only option. Soon to be available, "Once a week" and "Once a month")
    • -Add your e-mail address, and
    • -Click "Create Alert"
    • -Confirm that you want to receive these alerts via the email you will receive.
  • Keywords: clinical practice guidelines | decision support | diagnosis | drugs | evidence-based medicine | PDA access | point-of-care


Early Encounters in North America

80. Early Encounters in North America



Early English Books Online

81. Early English Books Online



EBooks on EBSCOHost

82. EBooks on EBSCOHost



ebrary

83. ebrary



ebrary Breast Cancer Searchable Information Center

84. ebrary Breast Cancer Searchable Information Center



Ebrary Library & KM Center

85. Ebrary Library & KM Center



EBSCOHost Espanol (TexShare)

86. EBSCOHost Espanol (TexShare)



Economia y Negocios (TexShare)

87. Economia y Negocios (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: bibliographic records , Spanish language interface
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: A collaborative effort between EBSCO Publishing and ESAN (Escuela de Administración de Negocios para Graduados), this bibliographic database provides information on research conducted in the areas of business and economics. Search functionality is enhanced through the incorporation of author keywords supplied in Spanish and English. More than 60,000 records, dating back to the early 1980s, provide coverage for over 200 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere. Active titles include Revista de la CEPAL, Revista de Administraçao, Estudios Empresariales, and Agroeconómico.
  • Keywords: business | economics | Latin America | management | research | Spanish


Eighteenth Century Collections Online (TexShare)

88. Eighteenth Century Collections Online (TexShare)

  • Provider: Gale/Texas State Library
  • Contents: full text
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Digital images of over 13 million pages from over 1,500 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, with images and maps included. A wide variety of subject matter is represented, from Fine Arts to Medicine. Titles from the British Library and many other university, private and public libraries worldwide.
  • Keywords: culture | history | homework | kids | society


Enhanced Business Search Interface (TexShare)

89. Enhanced Business Search Interface (TexShare)



Entrez Cross-Database Search

90. Entrez Cross-Database Search



Environmental Health and Toxicology (Specialized Information Services)

91. Environmental Health and Toxicology (Specialized Information Services)



Epocrates Online®

92. Epocrates Online®



ERIC (EBSCO -- TexShare)

93. ERIC (EBSCO -- TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , bibliographies , directory , dissertation , government documents , indexing , monographs , proceedings , thesis
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the US Department of Education to provide access to educational-related literature; provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Dates of coverage: 1966 - current. Subject coverage includes counseling and personnel services, education management, information resources, languages and linguistics, science, mathematics, and environmental education, teacher education, and tests, measurement, and evaluation.
  • Keywords: education | science | tests | workforce


Ethnic NewsWatch

94. Ethnic NewsWatch



European Patent Office (Espacenet) Patent Search

95. European Patent Office (Espacenet) Patent Search



Exam Master (USMLE)

96. Exam Master (USMLE)

  • Provider: Exam Master Corp.
  • Contents: test questions
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Exam Master's question bank contains exam practice material for: USMLE Steps 1, 2 and 3; Medical Board Exams, including family practice, internal medicine, and surgery; several medical specialties, including anatomy, microbiology and physiology; and Part I of the National Board Dental Exam. Users register via Remote Access at Exam Master, and set up personal logins in order to create and save their exam questions in the Exam Master database. To register or access your Exam Master account, log in to your HAM-TMC Library account first. In the database, follow the link that says, "Not registered yet?" if you are a new user. Please, enter your institutional email address when signing up at the Exam Master site; this is necessary for our verification purposes. The publisher recommends new users take the tutorial they are presented with on first login, before proceeding to select their exam materials.
  • Keywords: medicine | tests | USMLE


Eye Pathologist, The

97. Eye Pathologist, The



F1000 Posters

98. F1000 Posters



F1000 Research

99. F1000 Research



FDA Drugs

100. FDA Drugs



FDA Maude Database

101. FDA Maude Database



FDA Poisonous Plant Database

102. FDA Poisonous Plant Database

  • Provider: U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  • Contents: brief records , indexing , links
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: "This database contains references to the scientific literature describing studies of the toxic properties and effects of plants and plant parts." A search result contains full citation information and, where applicable, links to PubMed abstracts. The most immediately informative links here, however, are the links from the records into the Germplasm Resources Information Network (GRIN.) In GRIN, records give information on taxonomy, common names, distributional range, and economic importance, as well as supplying links to outside references, web-based information and images.
  • Keywords:


FDsys

103. FDsys



Federal Register

104. Federal Register



FedStats

105. FedStats



FlyBase: A Database of Drosophila Genes and Genomes

106. FlyBase: A Database of Drosophila Genes and Genomes



Frontiers

107. Frontiers



Fuente Academica (TexShare)

108. Fuente Academica (TexShare)



Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia

109. Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia



Gale Virtual Reference Library

110. Gale Virtual Reference Library



Gene Ontology (GO) project

111. Gene Ontology (GO) project



Genetics Home Reference

112. Genetics Home Reference



Geneva Foundation for Medical Education and Research

113. Geneva Foundation for Medical Education and Research



GigaDB

114. GigaDB



Global Ethics Observatory

115. Global Ethics Observatory



Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) - Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME)

116. Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) - Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME)



Google Scholar

117. Google Scholar



GoPubMed

118. GoPubMed



GreenFile (TexShare)

119. GreenFile (TexShare)



Grey Literature Report

120. Grey Literature Report



Handbook of Texas Online (TexShare)

121. Handbook of Texas Online (TexShare)

  • Provider: Texas State Historical Association and the General Libraries at UT Austin -- TexShare
  • Contents: encyclopedia , full text
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association and the General Libraries at UT Austin. It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories. The scope is broad and inclusive, designed to provide readers with concise, authoritative and accessible articles that provide factual, nonpartisan accounts on virtually every aspect of Texas history and culture.
  • Keywords: culture | history | homework | Texas


HarpWeek

122. HarpWeek



Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)

123. Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)

  • Provider: OVID
  • Contents: research tools , test questions
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Provides access to information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Helps to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
  • Keywords: education | libraries | psychology | social sciences | student


Health Reference Center Academic (TexShare)

124. Health Reference Center Academic (TexShare)



Health Research Funding

125. Health Research Funding



Health Source: Consumer Edition (TexShare)

126. Health Source: Consumer Edition (TexShare)



Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (TexShare)

127. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , reference
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on various medical disciplines and features abstracts and indexing for 850 journals, with coverage of nursing and allied health being particularly strong, including full text from many nursing journals. Lexi-PAL Drug Guide is also indexed, which provides 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names covered. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
  • Keywords: allied health | drugs | medicine | nursing


Herbs and Supplements Information (MedlinePlus)

128. Herbs and Supplements Information (MedlinePlus)



HeritageQuest Online

129. HeritageQuest Online



HighWire Press Free Online Full-Text Articles

130. HighWire Press Free Online Full-Text Articles



Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life

131. Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life

  • Provider: EBSCO
  • Contents: abstracts , bibliographic records , citations , full text , indexing
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Combined with its sister database America: History and Life, Historical Abstracts contains over 1 million abstracts and citations of book and media reviews, books, and dissertations, many with links to the fulltext. Historical Abstracts provides a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Together, America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts cover over 1,700 journals published throughout the world, in over forty languages. Each database deals with those articles that are pertinent to its period of coverage.
  • Keywords: American history | books | dissertations | history | homework | multicultural | reviews | society


Historical New York Times

132. Historical New York Times



IEEE Xplore

133. IEEE Xplore



Index to Chiropractic Literature

134. Index to Chiropractic Literature



Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office. US Army.

135. Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office. US Army.



Information Science & Technology Abstracts (TexShare)

136. Information Science & Technology Abstracts (TexShare)



InfoTrac Newsstand (TexShare)

137. InfoTrac Newsstand (TexShare)

  • Provider: Gale/Texas State Library
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , newspapers
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: InfoTrac Newsstand contains more than 33 million full-text articles from more than 1,100 newspapers. Users can create individual accounts that allow them to save searches, create alerts and even customize the interface. This product provides more ways to search (like searching within results) and manage the documents found (like bookmarking, sharing and MP3 downloading) as well as access to multimedia/audio files. Tabs give quick access to the latest news on current hot topics.
  • Keywords: general reference | Texas


IntegromeDB

138. IntegromeDB



Interactive Fly, The

139. Interactive Fly, The



Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts (TexShare)

140. Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas. Coverage extends back to the 1980s. Over 400 trade publications, mainstream computer magazines and professional journals are covered, including those that focus on specific topics such as Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming and web development, with special emphasis on hardware and software reviews. Includes content from such titles as Byte.com, PC World, Macworld, and Linux Journal, as well as editor-selected articles from hundreds of popular magazine titles.
  • Keywords: computers | industry | internet | journal | products | technology


ION (Index to Organism Names)

141. ION (Index to Organism Names)



IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology (Gold Book)

142. IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology (Gold Book)



J-STAGE

143. J-STAGE



JCR (Journal Citation Reports)

144. JCR (Journal Citation Reports)



Journals@ OVID Full Text

145. Journals@ OVID Full Text



JSTOR, the Scholarly Journal Archive

146. JSTOR, the Scholarly Journal Archive

  • Provider: JSTOR
  • Contents: archive , full text , indexing
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: The JSTOR archive contains the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals in multiple disciplines, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600's. New titles and disciplines are added regularly. Via HAM-TMC Library the following collections are available: Arts and Sciences I-IV; Biological Sciences; Business I-II; Ecology & Botany; Health & General Sciences; and Language & Literature.
  • Keywords: digital | journal | multidisciplinary


Kids Search (TexShare)

147. Kids Search (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: full text , illustrations , search engine
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Search interface designed specifically for elementary/middle school students' needs and search abilities. The Kids Search interface combines a search engine with a child-friendly, graphically rich design that is both powerful and fun to use. Important features and functionality of Kids Search include a completely new, visually appealing look and feel and the ability to search by topic, subtopic, or keywords.
  • Keywords: homework | K-12 | kids | multidisciplinary


LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database

148. LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database



Legal Collection (TexShare)

149. Legal Collection (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies, with information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. Legal Collection offers full text for nearly 250 law journals and provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.
  • Keywords: criminal justice | law | legal | multidisciplinary | social sciences


Library of Texas (TexShare)

150. Library of Texas (TexShare)



Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (TexShare)

151. Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (TexShare)



Literature Resource Center

152. Literature Resource Center



MAS Ultra School Edition (TexShare)

153. MAS Ultra School Edition (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: encyclopedia , full text , images , maps , monographs , reference
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Contains full text for more than 700 popular magazines, including The Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Science News, and Scientific American. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is available for biographies and primary source documents. Also included are pamphlets, reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), an image collection, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
  • Keywords: kids | magazines | multidisciplinary | research | student


MasterFILE Premier (TexShare)

154. MasterFILE Premier (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , dictionary , e-books , indexing , maps , quick reference , reference , research tools
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Provides full text for more than 1,700 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, and multicultural issues. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,400 titles. This database includes full text Magill Book Reviews, full text reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text from biographies, full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an image collection of photos, maps and flags. Includes PDF backfiles as far back as 1975 for key publications.
  • Keywords: general reference | multicultural | multidisciplinary | reviews | student


MD Consult

155. MD Consult



Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)

156. Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)



MedicLatina (TexShare)

157. MedicLatina (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , Spanish language interface
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative medicine journals, providing full text in Spanish to peer-reviewed medical journals. A wide range of topics is covered, including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology. Publications covered in this database include Revista Medica del IMSS, Revista Mexicana de Patologia Clinica, Boletin Medico del Hospital Infantil de Mexico, Archivos de Neurociencias, Revista Biomedica, Veterinaria Mexico, and Salud Publica de Mexico.
  • Keywords: journal | Latin America | medicine | peer review | physicians | research | scientist | Spanish


Medline (EBSCO)

158. Medline (EBSCO)



Medline (Ovid)

159. Medline (Ovid)



Medline (PubMed)

160. Medline (PubMed)



MedlinePlus

161. MedlinePlus



Medscape

162. Medscape



Mental Measurements Yearbook

163. Mental Measurements Yearbook

  • Provider: EBSCO
  • Contents: citations , full text , indexing , mobile access
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Produced by the Buros Institute, MMY contains full text information about, and reviews of, all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments designed for users from experienced professionals to novice test consumers, Mental Measurements Yearbook contains the information essential to the evaluation of test products. Mobile access to Mental Measurements Yearbook is available here. In addition, entries are now available for download as spoken mp3 format files.
  • Keywords: business | education | mental health | PDA access | psychology | reviews | sociology | tests | workforce


Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, The

164. Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, The



Merck Manual: Home Health Handbook for Patients & Caregivers

165. Merck Manual: Home Health Handbook for Patients & Caregivers



Merck Veterinary Manual

166. Merck Veterinary Manual



MerckMedicus

167. MerckMedicus



Methods Navigator

168. Methods Navigator

  • Provider: Elsevier
  • Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , citations , full text , images , links to full text , protocols , research tools , videos
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions:

    Methods Navigator provides a time-saving structure for life scientists that facilitates search, retrieval and application of correct laboratory methods. Drawing on content from Methods in Enzymology, Methods in Cellular Biology, and more than 40,000 articles from 15 primary and methods journals (all published by Elsevier,) Methods Navigator also includes 120 of the most commonly-used protocols. The database combines multiple taxonomies into a single ontology to search across these resources (organized into 60,000 topics) for the methods and protocols you need.

    Individual (free) registration allows you to bookmark materials for quick retrieval from a personal storage area called MyMethods. Protocols can also be downloaded to computer and opened with Word; users are free to edit them and upload the changed documents into MyMethods, from which point they can also be shared with other Methods Navigator users.

    Accessing "Help" opens a pop-up window with Help contents and (see top menu) a link to a short 3-part video tutorial. Scopus users will notice many familiar search and filtering features in Methods Navigator.

    Requirements: JavaScript activated, in a browser updated within the past year.

  • Keywords: biology | biomedical research | figures | laboratory | research | scientist | search | standards | tutorial


Micromedex

169. Micromedex

  • Provider: Thomson
  • Contents: chemical compounds , chemical structure , full text , monographs , protocols , quick reference , reference , summaries
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions:

    Micromedex is a quick and in-depth source of information on drugs, toxins and natural/herbal products. Each component of Micromedex addresses a broad subject area: medication safety, disease management and treatment (both general and emergency medicine), patient education, toxicology, laboratory tests. Each broad category is fed by a cluster of relevant databases. Each category is accessible in tabs on every page, and affords the user a drop-down choice to narrow a search to a specific database, or a specific topic. Drug interaction information, various calculator tools, a neonatal drug resource (NeoFax), a database of international drug information (Index Nominum), MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets) and more additional resources are included.

    Please Note: Micromedex is licensed to us for academic and training use only. Application of this subscription to affect outcomes in any actual clinical setting, whether a laboratory or a care facility, is strictly prohibited by the terms of our license. Please comply with this restriction.

    NOTE: Micromedex's technical support staff have informed us that the database is fully tested only with the following browser versions: Internet Explorer 6 and 7. Difficulties with display and searching are likely with IE 8 and Firefox 5. Although the database is not tested with Safari or Chrome, no users have reported problems with Micromedex when used with these browsers. For IE 8 users, they recommend running in compatibility mode with Micromedex.

  • Keywords: database | drugs | emergency medicine | evidence-based | herbs | mobile access | pesticides | pharmaceutical | pharmacology | pharmacy | reproductive health | tests | toxicology | toxins | trademark


Middle Search Plus (TexShare)

170. Middle Search Plus (TexShare)



Military & Government Collection (TexShare)

171. Military & Government Collection (TexShare)



National Cancer Institute Website

172. National Cancer Institute Website



National Criminal Justice Reference Service

173. National Criminal Justice Reference Service



National Guideline Clearinghouse

174. National Guideline Clearinghouse



Natural & Alternative Treatments (TexShare)

175. Natural & Alternative Treatments (TexShare)



Nature.com Databases and Gateways

176. Nature.com Databases and Gateways



NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information)

177. NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information)



NCBI Bookshelf

178. NCBI Bookshelf



NCMIR - National Center for Microscopy and Imaging Research

179. NCMIR - National Center for Microscopy and Imaging Research



Neuroimaging Informatics Tools and Resources Clearinghouse (NITRC)

180. Neuroimaging Informatics Tools and Resources Clearinghouse (NITRC)



NeuroMorpho.Org

181. NeuroMorpho.Org



Neuroscience Information Framework

182. Neuroscience Information Framework



NeuroSynth (beta)

183. NeuroSynth (beta)



New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM)

184. New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM)



New York Times Historical Archive, 1851-

185. New York Times Historical Archive, 1851-



Newspaper Source (TexShare)

186. Newspaper Source (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: citations , full text , indexing , news , newspapers , radio , transcripts
  • Access Levels: On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (US) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 230 regional (US) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, and other sources.
  • Keywords: business | culture | current events | politics | public affairs | society


NewspaperCat

187. NewspaperCat



NextBio Basic

188. NextBio Basic



NIH RePORTER

189. NIH RePORTER



NIOSH (National Institute for Occupational Health and Safety)

190. NIOSH (National Institute for Occupational Health and Safety)



NLM Drug Information Portal

191. NLM Drug Information Portal



NLM Gallery of Mobile Apps and Sites

192. NLM Gallery of Mobile Apps and Sites



North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories

193. North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories



North American Women's Letters and Diaries

194. North American Women's Letters and Diaries



Nursing & Allied Health Source (ProQuest)

195. Nursing & Allied Health Source (ProQuest)



Nursing Reference Center

196. Nursing Reference Center

  • Provider: EBSCO
  • Contents: CME , e-books , full text , links to full text , news , patient education , reference
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: A comprehensive, point-of-care resource for nursing, Nursing Reference Center draws search results in part from Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses; AHFS Drug Information Essentials; Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual; Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary; and Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications. Nursing Reference Center includes: "quick lessons" on diseases and disorders; evidence-based care sheets; practice guidelines; patient education sheets, some available in Spanish; CE modules; news; research instruments; and information on legal cases. Nursing Reference Center provides direct access to full text articles found in CINAHL. First-time users are encouraged to "take the tour" on the database's home page (FlashPlayer required) to learn more.
  • Keywords: clinical practice guidelines | drugs | evidence-based | journal | legal | monographs | nursing | point-of-care


OHSAH MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets)

197. OHSAH MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets)



OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man

198. OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man



OMMBID (Online Metabolic & Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease)

199. OMMBID (Online Metabolic & Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease)



OncologyStat

200. OncologyStat



OpenThesis

201. OpenThesis



Orphanet: the Portal for Rare Diseases and Orphan Drugs

202. Orphanet: the Portal for Rare Diseases and Orphan Drugs



OVID Medline

203. OVID Medline



Oxford Open

204. Oxford Open



PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International

205. PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International



PDQ (Physician Data Query) Cancer Database

206. PDQ (Physician Data Query) Cancer Database



PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database

207. PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database



Periodicals Archive Online

208. Periodicals Archive Online



Plants Database (USDA)

209. Plants Database (USDA)



PLOS Hub for Clinical Trials

210. PLOS Hub for Clinical Trials



PQDT Open-

211. PQDT Open-



Primary Search (TexShare)

212. Primary Search (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: citations , full text , images
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Indexes nearly 70 popular elementary school magazines, with all full text articles (about a third of the material indexed) being assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets. Examples of publications include: Boys’ Life, Cricket, Highlights for Children, Hopscotch, Jack & Jill, Ladybug, Ranger Rick, Science World, Spider, SuperScience, and Time for Kids. This database also provides the American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an image collection of 202,164 photos, maps and flags.
  • Keywords: culture | K-12 | kids | multidisciplinary | search


Professional Development Collection (TexShare)

213. Professional Development Collection (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , career and jobs , full text , indexing
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Designed for professional educators, this database provides a specialized collection of nearly 550 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. Titles offered include: Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Journal of Learning Disabilities, and School Library Journal.
  • Keywords: education


ProSearch

214. ProSearch



Proteopedia: Life in 3-D

215. Proteopedia: Life in 3-D



PSI|Nature Structural Biology Knowledgebase

216. PSI|Nature Structural Biology Knowledgebase



Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (TexShare)

217. Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (TexShare)



PsycINFO (OVID)

218. PsycINFO (OVID)



PubChem

219. PubChem



Public Library of Science (PLoS)

220. Public Library of Science (PLoS)



PubMed

221. PubMed



PubMed Central

222. PubMed Central



PubMed Clinical Queries

223. PubMed Clinical Queries



PubMed Health

224. PubMed Health



QuantiaMD

225. QuantiaMD



Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM)

226. Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM)



RefWorks

227. RefWorks

  • Provider: ProQuest
  • Contents: bibliographic management , interactive , mobile access , reference
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User , TMC Alumni User
  • Descriptions: RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables users to organize and create a personal database online, format bibliographies and manuscripts, and import references from a variety of databases using the already-created Import Filters. Users can establish links to RSS feeds and import data from those feeds directly. RefWorks automatically creates author, descriptor and periodical indexes when importing data. It can be used across multiple platforms, including Windows, Mac, and Unix. Individual sign-up is required. For RefWorks tutorials in video and print-only formats, click here. If you are prompted for a Group Code while using RefWorks, you can find it in your original sign-up email from RefWorks; otherwise, please contact us for that information.

    RefWorks is also available in mobile format; see "RefMobile".

    NOTE: RefWorks is a utility to which users may retain access indefinitely after graduation or departure from their TMC academic institution.

  • Keywords: mobile access | PDA access | publishing | research | student


Regional Business News (TexShare)

228. Regional Business News (TexShare)



Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)

229. Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)



Religion and Philosophy Collection (TexShare)

230. Religion and Philosophy Collection (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Covers the predominant world religions, biblical studies, archaeology, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, ethics, history of philosophy. Contains more than 300 full text journals, among them more than 250 peer-reviewed titles. Indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the database.
  • Keywords: ethics | philosophy


Salud en Espanol (TexShare)

231. Salud en Espanol (TexShare)



Science and Technology Collection (TexShare)

232. Science and Technology Collection (TexShare)



ScienceDirect

233. ScienceDirect



SciVerse Hub

234. SciVerse Hub



Scopus

235. Scopus



Scribner Writers Series (TexShare)

236. Scribner Writers Series (TexShare)



Searchasaurus (TexShare)

237. Searchasaurus (TexShare)



Serials Directory (TexShare)

238. Serials Directory (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: bibliographic records , directory , newspapers
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Provides bibliographic information and current pricing structures for popular serials; lists over 184,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from nearly 83,500 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses. Historical data is provided for an additional 20,000 titles; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classification numbers are listed for each entry.
  • Keywords: journal | libraries | magazines | periodicals


SJR - SCImago Journal & Country Rank

239. SJR - SCImago Journal & Country Rank



Social Science Research Network (SSRN)

240. Social Science Research Network (SSRN)



Spanish Language Interface to EBSCO Databases (TexShare)

241. Spanish Language Interface to EBSCO Databases (TexShare)



SpringerLink

242. SpringerLink



SpringerOpen

243. SpringerOpen



STAR (Software Tools for Academics and Researchers)

244. STAR (Software Tools for Academics and Researchers)



STAT!Ref (TexShare)

245. STAT!Ref (TexShare)

  • Provider: Teton Data Systems
  • Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , reference , tables of contents , textbooks
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions:

    Stat!Ref is a cross-searchable reference database of core full-text medical, pharmacology and nursing books, drug information from AHFS, ACP's PIER, and general tools like the ICD 9, Stedman's and the National Guideline Clearinghouse. This subscription for educational institutions, provided via the Texas State Library, includes the latest editions of more than 80 standard, respected titles.

    An additional feature available to you in Stat!Ref is the Evidence Alerts feed. To register to receive these alerts, which can be customized according to your interests and delivered at selectable regular intervals, you will need to create a My STAT!Ref “Preferences” account. To do this,

    • Access STAT!Ref
    • Go to “Preferences” (located just under the search box)
    • Sign up for preferences
    • Select disciplines and a time interval.

    Jan., 2012: Stat!Ref now offers Mobile Access! You can activate it via your "Preferences" account. Once in your individual account, click "Temporary Log-in Account," and follow directions. Please note that, although more devices are being added, an app for your device may not be available just yet. Also please note that at present, mobile access must be renewed every 90 days. Once your mobile account is established, you will not need to log in with TMC Library to use mobile Stat!Ref.

  • Keywords: books | clinical | communicable diseases | decision support | evidence-based | evidence-based medicine | genetics | ICD-9 | infectious disease | internal medicine | medical coding | medicine | multidisciplinary | nursing | office practice | pediatrics | pharmacology | physicians | surgery


Statistical Abstract of the United States

246. Statistical Abstract of the United States



STITCH 3.1: Chemical-Protein Interactions

247. STITCH 3.1: Chemical-Protein Interactions



Structure (NCBI)

248. Structure (NCBI)



Student Research Center Interface (TexShare)

249. Student Research Center Interface (TexShare)



SUMSearch2

250. SUMSearch2



Tests in Print

251. Tests in Print



Texas Digital Sanborn Maps (TexShare)

252. Texas Digital Sanborn Maps (TexShare)

  • Provider: ProQuest -- TexShare
  • Contents: maps , reference
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Covering 1867 - 1970, Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring individual properties. The maps list street blocks and building numbers, including both numbers in use at the time of mapping and numbers designated previously.
  • Keywords: American history | Texas


Texas Poison Center Network

253. Texas Poison Center Network

  • Provider: Texas Poison Center Network
  • Contents: free , quick reference
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: This site displays poison control center phone numbers for Texas, prevention and first aid information, useful fact sheets and materials for educational programs, information on poisonous plants and animals, and under Links, an excellent selection of links to other relevant sites, including ASPCA's pet poisoning and prevention information. General information brochures with the toll-free poison control number are free to download or print, in English and eleven other languages.
  • Keywords:


Texas Reference Center (TexShare)

254. Texas Reference Center (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: biographical , full text , reference
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Includes more than 80 full-text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic and cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden, sports & leisure. Contains biographies of famous historical and contemporary Texans like George H.W. Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston. Newspapers providing Texas and national news coverage are also included.
  • Keywords: books | history | homework | journal | kids | student | Texas


TOPICsearch (TexShare)

255. TOPICsearch (TexShare)



Tox Town

256. Tox Town



ToxLearn

257. ToxLearn



TOXMAP

258. TOXMAP



TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network

259. TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network



Traditional Chinese Medicine Database (TCM)

260. Traditional Chinese Medicine Database (TCM)



TRIP Database: the search engine for Evidence-Based Medicine

261. TRIP Database: the search engine for Evidence-Based Medicine



Twayne's Author Series (TexShare)

262. Twayne's Author Series (TexShare)



Twentieth (20th) Century Poetry (American & English) - TexShare

263. Twentieth (20th) Century Poetry (American & English) - TexShare

  • Provider: ProQuest -- TexShare
  • Contents: full text
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: American Section: includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes of works by more than 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton and Cathy Song. The English Section is a collection of 598 volumes of poems written by 283 poets, dating from 1900 to the present day: W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy and many more; incorporates also poets represented in The Faber Poetry Library.
  • Keywords: books | homework | humanities | poetry | student


U.S. Patent and Trademark Office

264. U.S. Patent and Trademark Office



UniProt

265. UniProt



Vocational and Career Collection (TexShare)

266. Vocational and Career Collection (TexShare)



Whole Brain Atlas

267. Whole Brain Atlas



Wiley Online Library (formerly Wiley Interscience)

268. Wiley Online Library (formerly Wiley Interscience)



Wiley Open Access

269. Wiley Open Access



WISER: Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders

270. WISER: Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders

  • Provider: National Library of Medicine
  • Contents: chemical compounds , free , index , mobile access , reference
  • Access Levels: Fee-Based Member , Free , Non-Registered TMC User , On-Site Visitor , Online Visitor , Open Access , TMC Academic User , TMC Non-Academic User
  • Descriptions: This database is focused on hazardous chemicals, and helps the user to identify unknown chemicals. "WISER is a system designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice... WISER is also available as a standalone application for PCs and PDAs." The Web version can also be used on PDAs, including BlackBerry and iPhone. See this page for details. Features the Chemical Reactivity utility, in which a group of substances can be entered for a particular circumstance, and the user can see, at an overview or detailed level, reactions and hazards that would ensue. Also includes a protective distance-mapping feature from the U.S. Department of Transportation's Emergency Response Guidebook. WISER for iPhone/iPod touch can be downloaded and installed directly from the Apple App Store: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/wiser-for-iphone-ipod-touch/id375185381?mt=8
  • Keywords: chemicals | emergency medicine | mobile access | NLM | open access | PDA access | toxins


WolframAlpha: Computational Knowledge Engine

271. WolframAlpha: Computational Knowledge Engine



World Factbook

272. World Factbook



World History Collection (TexShare)

273. World History Collection (TexShare)

  • Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
  • Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
  • Access Levels: Licensed , On-Site Visitor , TMC Academic User
  • Descriptions: Provides a global look at history in content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. Contains full text for nearly 150 fully indexed and abstracted titles, including many peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of historical topics including anthropology, art, culture, economics, government, heritage, the military, politics, regional issues, and more.
  • Keywords: anthropology | art | culture | economics | government | history | politics


WorldCat

274. WorldCat



WorldCat (TexShare)

275. WorldCat (TexShare)